Signatories

The following AAA members were signatories to the founding of IGAPP (now ASAP) in April 2004.

Co-founders:

Gregory Feldman, adjunct professor,
School for International Studies,
Simon Fraser University
7200-515 West Hastings St.
Vancouver, BC V6B 5K3
Canada
E-Mail: gregfeldman7@gmail.com
Telephone: 778-782-7837

Janine R. Wedel, professor,
School of Public Policy,
George Mason University
3401 N. Fairfax Drive, MS 3B1,
Arlington, Virginia 22201
E-Mail: jwedel@gmu.edu
Telephone: 703-993-3567 or 202-514-6207

Steering Committee:

Marietta Baba, professor of anthropology and dean,
College of Social Science,
Michigan State University
203 Berkey Hall
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
E-Mail: mbaba@msu.edu
Telephone: 517-355-6675

William Beeman, professor of anthropology and chair,
Department of Anthropology
University of Minnesota
301 19th Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55455
E-Mail: wbeeman@umn.edu
Telephone: 612-625-3400

Cris Shore, professor,
Department of Anthropology,
University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Auckland, New Zealand
E-Mail: c.shore@auckland.ac.nz
Telephone:  64 9 373 7599, ext: 88535

Thomas M. Wilson, professor of anthropology,
Department of Anthropology
Binghamton University, State University of New York
P.O. Box 6000
Binghamton, New York 13902-6000
E-Mail: twilson@binghamton.edu
Telephone: 607-777-2844 (direct); 607-777-2737/2738 (department)

Susan Wright, professor,
Institute of Educational Anthropology,
Danish University of Education
Emdrupvej 101,
2400 Copenhagen NV, Denmark
E-Mail: suwr@dpu.dk

Other Signatories:

Kevin Avruch,
professor of conflict resolution and anthropology,
Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution,
George Mason University
ICAR – 4D3 GMU,
Fairfax, Virginia 22030-4444
E-Mail: kavruch@gmu.edu
Telephone: 703-993-3607/1300

Fredrik Barth, professor emeritus,
Department of Anthropology,
Boston University
232 Bay State Road
Boston, Massachusetts 02215
E-Mail: Janet O’Neil (oneil@bu.edu) or Kathy Kwasnica (kaek@bu.edu);
Telephone: 617-353-2195 (main office)

Peter W. Black, professor of anthropology,
Department of Sociology and Anthropology,
George Mason University
B317 Robinson Hall,
Fairfax, Virginia 22030
E-Mail: pblack@gmu.edu
Telephone: 703-993-1450

John Borneman, professor of anthropology,
Department of Anthropology,
Princeton University
100 Aaron Burr Hall,
Princeton, New Jersey 08544
E-Mail: borneman@princeton.edu
Telephone: 609-258-5535

Donald Brenneis, professor of anthropology,
Santa Cruz Social Sciences 1,
University of California
1156 High Street Santa Cruz, California 95064
E-Mail: brenneis@ucsc.edu
Telephone: 831-459-3855

Elizabeth Colson, professor of anthropology emerita,
University of California Berkeley
232 Kroeber Hall
Berkeley, California 94720-3710
E-Mail: colson@sscl.berkeley.edu
Telephone: 510-642-3391

Jane K. Cowan, reader and head of the Anthropology Department,
University of Sussex
Arts C124 Falmer,
Brighton BN1 9SJ, United Kingdom
E-Mail: J.Cowan@sussex.ac.uk
Telephone: 44 12 73 873 109 (ext. 3109)

Arturo Escobar, Kenan distinguished professor of anthropology and director,
Institute of Latin American Studies
University of North Carolina
E-Mail: aescobar@imap.unc.edu
Telephone: 919-962-1243

James Ferguson, professor of cultural and social anthropology
Stanford University
Building 110,Main Quad
Stanford, California 94305
E-Mail: jgfergus@stanford.edu
Telephone: 650-723-3418

Susan Gal, professor of anthropology and linguistics,
Department of Anthropology,
University of Chicago
1126 East 59th Street,
Chicago, Illinois 60637
E-Mail: s-gal@uchicago.edu
Telephone: 773-702-2551

Lynne Goldstein, professor of anthropology and chair,
Department of Anthropology,
Michigan State University
354 Baker Hall
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
E-Mail: lynneg@msu.edu
Telephone: 517-353-4704

Elzbieta Gozdziak, research director,
Institute for the Study of International Migration,
School of Foreign Service,
Georgetown University
3307 M Street, NW, Suite 302
Washington, D.C. 20007
E-Mail: emg27@georgetown.edu
Telephone: 202-687-2257

William Graves III, associate professor of humanities,
Department of English and Cultural Studies and International Studies Program,
Bryant College
Smithfield, Rhode Island  02917
E-Mail: wgraves@bryant.edu

Carol Greenhouse, professor of anthropology,
Department of Anthropology,
Princeton University
100 Aaron Burr Hall
Princeton, New Jersey 08544
E-Mail: cgreenho@princeton.edu
Telephone: 609-258-5535

Akhil Gupta, associate professor of cultural and social anthropology,
Stanford University
Building 110, Main Quad
Stanford, California 94305
E-Mail: akgupta@stanford.edu
Telephone: 650-723-3247

Hugh Gusterson,
associate professor of anthropology and science studies at MIT, and
professor of public policy,
Georgia Institute of Technology
685 Cherry Street
Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0345
E-Mail: hugh.gusterson@pubpolicy.gatech.edu
Telephone: 404-385-6082

Ulf Hannerz, professor of social anthropology,
Institute for Social Anthropology,
Stockholm University
S-106 91 Stockholm, Sweden
E-Mail: ulf.hannerz@socant.su.se
Telephone:  46 8 162000

Robert Hayden,
professor of anthropology, law and public & international affairs, and
director, Center for Russian and East European Studies,
Department of Anthropology,
University of Pittsburgh
3H01 Posvar Hall,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15260
E-Mail: mhayden@ucis.pitt.edu
Telephone: 412-648-7500

Michael Herzfeld, professor of anthropology,
Department of Anthropology,
Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138
E-Mail: herzfeld@wjh.harvard.edu
Telephone: 617-496-5190

Douglas R. Holmes, professor of anthropology,
Department of Anthropology,
Binghamton University
Binghamton, New York 13902-6000
E-Mail: dholmes@binghamton.edu
Telephone 607-777-4550

Michael M. Horowitz, distinguished professor of anthropology and director,
Institute for Development Anthropology,
State University of New York at Binghamton
(Binghamton, New York 13902-6000)
99 Collier Street,
Binghamton, New York 13902-2207
E-mail: mhorowi@binghamton.edu
Telephone: 607-772-6244

Judith Justice, associate professor of medical anthropology and health policy,
Department of Anthropology,
History and Social Medicine,
University of California at San Francisco
San Francisco, California 94143
E-Mail: justice@itsa.ucsf.edu
Telephone: 510-841-7404

Bruce Kapferer, professor of social anthropology,
Institute of Social Anthropology
University of Bergen
Fosswinckelsgate 6 N-5007 Bergen, Norway
E-Mail: bruce.kapferer@sosantr.uib.no
Telephone: 47 555 892-47 (Bergen)  44-207 221-91-85 (London)

Marina Kurkchiyan, Paul Dodyk fellow in socio-legal studies and research fellow
Wolfson College,
University of Oxford Centre for Socio-Legal Studies,
Wolfson College
Oxford OX2 6UD United Kingdom
E-Mail: mkurkchiyan@hotmail.com
Telephone: 44 1865 284 224

George Marcus, professor of anthropology,
Department of Anthropology
Rice University MS 20
6100 Main St.
Houston, Texas 77005
E-Mail: marcus@rice.edu (in 2004)
Telephone: 713-348-3382

Emily Martin, professor,
Department of Anthropology and Institute for the History of the Production of Knowledge,
New York University
25 Waverly Place
New York, New York 10003
E-Mail: em81@nyu.edu
Telephone: 212-998-3757

Barbara D. Miller,
professor of anthropology and international affairs, and
director, Culture in Global Affairs Research and Policy Program,
Department of Anthropology
George Washington University
2110 G Street, N.W.,
Washington D.C. 20052
E-Mail: barbar@gwu.edu
Telephone: 202-994-7257

Carolyn Nordstrom, associate professor of anthropology,
University of Notre Dame
623 Flanner Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556-5611
E-Mail: cnordstr@nd.edu
Telephone: 574-631-5072

Pauline Peters,
core faculty, Kennedy School of Government, and
senior lecturer, Department of Anthropology,
Harvard University
Kennedy School of Government
79 JFK Street,
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138
E-Mail: pauline_peters@harvard.edu
Telephone: 617-495-3785

Susan C. Rogers, associate professor of anthropology,
New York University
Rufus D. Smith Hall
25 Waverly Place,
New York, New York 10003
E-Mail: scr1@nyu.edu
Telephone: 212-988-8550

Steven Sampson, docent,
Department of Social Anthropology,
Institute of Sociology,
Lund University
22100 Lund, Sweden
E-mail: Sampson@Get2net.dk
Telephone: 45-3332 0251

Paul Shankman, professor of anthropology,
Department of Anthropology
University of Colorado at Boulder
UCB233,
Boulder, Colorado 80309-0233
E-Mail: shankman@stripe.colorado.edu
Telephone: 303-492-6628

Jaro Stacul,
Department of Social Anthropology,
Cambridge University
Free School Lane
Cambridge CB2 3RF, United Kingdom
E-Mail: js10043@hermes.cam.ac.uk (in 2004)

Kay Warren,
Tillinghast professor in international studies, and
professor of anthropology and director of Culture, Politics and Identity Program,
Watson Institute for International Studies,
Brown University
111 Thayer Street Providence,
Rhode Island 02912-1970
E-Mail: Kay_Warren@brown.edu